Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: MFC 29

MFC 29

"He was really disrespectful. I came up, I'm a professional and he just started talking smack. I got up there and he said, 'I'm gonna knock you out. I trained too hard for this. This is my fight and I'm gonna take it away from you.' And I said, 'You've trained too hard for this? You've had three weeks to train for me. You're getting knocked out.' That's all I said back to him. He was a disrespectful punk, so I was gonna go out there and put on a show but now I'm just gonna go out there and knock this kid out."

-Marcus Davis

Davis is going to get napped.

Is his opponent any good?

I threw 1.25 to win 1 unit on douglas lima. He is a rangy fighter who is pretty solid on the ground. Good in the clinch too. Martin is pretty much a brawler who has a suspect gas tank and isn't the most skilled fighter. A five round fight definitely favors lima in my mind and martin will need ko him to win, which is definitely possible. I think the line is off in this one

I bet Lima last night too

I looked at that fight as well. The reason I did not bet it is that Ryan Ford was taking Lima down at will in their fight, and Martin is a wrestler. But more than that, Martin has never been submitted.

That said, I was in the wrong mindset, because I was thinking Lima as a larger favorite... at -115 he is probably worth a bet. Martin is pretty much a journeyman on the downside of his career. His chin is shot and he doesn't have the finishing skills to take out Lima (IMO). Lima is a prospect on the rise- he should be much faster on the feet and will have the reach advantage especially because he throws a lot of kicks. In 5 rounds, Lima will probably find a way to get him out of there. Martin's path to victory is through his wrestling, but he doesn't really use it that much anymore. And even if he tries it, Lima is crafty, he may catch a knee or something.

I might tag along here... or put together a wiseman special.